Kannazuki No Miko: Our Last Song Together (Cantonese AMV translated to English)

[Edit: English subbed version has been done.  Link after the jump.]

Today I received my first comment ever for a Cantonese AMV I made for Kannazuki No Miko.  To my surprise, it is in English, even though everything in the Youtube video from the title to all the lyric subtitles to the whole description is all in Chinese.

“This is such a beautiful AMV. This captures their relationship perfectly. ^^ //ashamed of my Cantonese. xDarkangelGirl 1 hour ago”

Well xDarkangelGirl, I don’t know how you stumbled upon my AMV, but in case you don’t understand the Chinese lyrics here’s an English translation line by line:

H: lines to be sung by Himeko (red lines in the AMV)
C: lines to be sung by Chikane (blue lines in the AMV)
CxH: lines to be sung together (green lines in the AMV)

看 那麼多嘴角在微笑 是為何=
C: See, why is everyone’s lips turned up, in a smile
有 那麼多聲線在合唱 愉快的歌 =
C: Hear, so many voices singing, a happy song
誰都比我爛漫 笑聲若然沒結果
這天 這些開心的人怎麼過=
C: Everyone’s so cheerful
If laughter would be in vain
How do these happy people live through today?
我 我記得跟你在何處唱遊=
C: I, I remember where I sung together with you
聽 每首歌終結便輪到下一首=
C: Hear, every song ending with, a new song.
時光 總會落後 美好事情沒永久=
C: Time, never stays still, all good things come to an end
只好怪貪心人 無論滿足多麼久也未夠=
C: Blame my greed, for I won’t be content,
no matter how much happy times we spend, together

假使這歌到明年還在播 假若世界永遠都快樂=
C: If only this song could still be playing next year
If only the world could be happy forever
假使可跟你重頭開始過 何須將這鋼琴都敲破=
H: If only we could start all over,
there’d be no need to make this piano shatter
最後一刻 仍然還屬於我=
C: The last moment, mine alone as ever
最後的歌 還想聽到甚麼=
H: The last song, what do you still want to hear
最後想聽 聽你說願我
未來如何語調熟練仍然像最初=
C: I want to hear,
hear you tell
me
of our future together,
your voice comforting as ever

最後一刻 提琴還剩一個=
CxH: The last moment, only the violin remains
最後的歌 還可珍惜甚麼=
CxH: The last song, what is there left to be cherished?
最後想講 毋忘我=
H: The last thing, I want to say
C: Forget me not
可惜我 我懂得當那鋼琴要靜下時=
H: Alas I, I know that when the piano plays no more
你 會記得給我動搖過便要休止=
H: You, will remember to be swayed by me, no more
旋律比我幸運 我的下場沒法知=
H: The song is luckier than me, my fate is for no one to forsee
比不起 最後的歌 可以給我翻唱千次=
CxH: But we can sing, our last song together, again a thousand times over
縱使只得一次 稱心滿意
CxH: If only to sing it well, just once
至少半次=
C: At least, half once

And the quote from the anime at the end of the AMV:
“I have just seen Himeko again
Therefore, I am now happier
and more fortunate than anyone on earth”–Chikane

I don’t think I’ve ever heard a song that captures their relationship so well, that’s why I made this AMV in the first place.  That and the happy coincidence of the instrumental being played by piano, Chikane’s favourite instrument.

And now an English subbed version where I took some liberties with the translation to make the lyrics fit the story even better and to improve the prose structure:

See, why is everyone’s lips turned up, in a smile
Hear, so many voices singing, a happy song
Everyone is so cheerful
If our laughter would be in vain
How could I live through today?
I, I remember where I sung together with you
Hear, every song ending with, a new song
Time, never stays still,
All good things come to an end

Blame my greed, for I won’t be content,
No matter how much happy time we spend
Together

If only this song could still be playing next year
If only the world could be happy forever
If only we could start all over
there’d be no need to make our piano shatter
The last moment, mine alone as ever
The last song, what do you still want to hear
I want to hear
Hear you tell
me of our future together
Your voice comforting as ever

The last moment
Is about to perish

The last song
What is there left to cherish?

At last I say
Forget me not
Alas, I
I know that when the piano plays no more

You, will remember to be swayed by me, no more
The song is luckier than me, my fate no one can forsee
But we can sing, our last song together
Again a thousand times over

If only for once, to finish it together
At least, half once

[Edit: the hardsubs drove me crazy–everytime I change the translation by one word I had to wait 2 hours for the whole clip to render all over again…]

About Joe0Bloggs

joe0bloggs.wordpress.com Member of head-fi.org (Joe Bloggs)
This entry was posted in Other Yuri and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Kannazuki No Miko: Our Last Song Together (Cantonese AMV translated to English)

  1. xDarkangelGirl says:

    Wow! Thanks so much for the English lyrics! Cantonese was my first language, but I’m not really good with it since I don’t use it often. However, I understand most of it, so I really thought you managed to capture Chikane and Himeko’s relationship perfectly. The lyrics to this song is especially fitting.

    Oh to answer your question in how I found it.. Lets just say I lurk around a lot. Especially around certain yuri related blogs and sites. (:

    • Joe0Bloggs says:

      Thanks ^.^
      “Oh to answer your question in how I found it.. Lets just say I lurk around a lot. Especially around certain yuri related blogs and sites. (:”
      Awww don’t be so cryptic! You’ve just piqued my interest even further😀 Been playing with YouTube analytics for half an hour and still haven’t found anything. All I know is that someone seems to have posted this in facebook but a search in facebook comes up blank. You didn’t see this from yamibo.com right?

Leave a Reply

